getting saved by carolyn chen (2008)

“When I told members of a fellowship group that I wanted to observe them for my research they told me jokingly that all I had to write was that they ate a lot. Indeed food is a significant part of church life at Grace and wherever I went there was food, and plenty of it. Food serves a very distinct purpose at Grace. Whereas church events are organized around planned activities such as sermons, Bible studies, or prayers, meals are unstructured times when people can freely socialize. For this reason, meals can last for hours. I do not think it is an exaggeration to say that meals are the reason that some people come to church” (p. 52). 

[My mother still remembers how impressed she was that Kentucky Fried Chicken was served at a church in Iowa in the 70s]

