at california u

I remember those moments where I’m going through something as a black man that’s really, really hard, and I want to run to my black friends. I do and it’s good. Then God’s like ‘You need to share with your roommate. You need to share with Hiroshi. You need to share with Matthew,’ and all these men that aren’t black that God really wants me to let into my life. And I’m like ‘Why? They won’t understand.’ The point isn’t for them to be able to understand per se, but the point is for them to be able to know me better and to support me in something that they don’t understand. Now I look back and I love those people. I wouldn’t be who I am without them.

-Darren, InterVarsity alum and staffworker at “California University”

Chapter 4, When Diversity Drops

